Welcome!  Temple House of Israel is a Reform Jewish congregation in Staunton, Virginia with members from Staunton and surrounding towns and counties.  We also welcome students from the several college campuses in our area.

Learn about us, read about our history and what’s new in our bulletin, see our calendar and brochure, meet Rabbi Joe Blair, find interesting links, get directions, or learn how to contact us.

For information on events and the timing of Shabbat or Holiday services, please visit the calendar (linked in the bar above).

We look forward to meeting and greeting you when you come to our community!

Fri, Sept 1 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led Shabbat Service

Fri, Sept 15 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led Community Awareness Shabbat Service

Sat, Sept 16 @ 8:00 PM – Rabbi-led Havdalah and Selichot Service

Wed, Sept 20 @ 8:00 PM – Erev Rosh Hashanah (Rabbi Alexander)

Thur, Sept 21 @ 10:00 AM – Rosh Hashanah morning (Rabbi Joe)

Thurs, Sept 21 @ 1:00 PM – Tashlikh service at Gypsy Hill Park duck pond (Rabbi Joe)

Sun, Sept 24 @ 3:00 PM – Yizkor at THOI cemetary (Rabbi Joe)

Fri, Sept 29 @ 8:00 PM – Erev Kol Nidra (Rabbi Joe)

Sat, Sept 30 @ 10:00 AM – Yom Kippur morning (Rabbi Alexander)

Sat, Sept 30 @ 3:00 PM – Yom Kippur afternoon (Break the fast meal following concluding service)

Fri, Oct 13 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led Simchat Torah service

Thurs, Oct 19 @ 6:00-9:00 PM – Introduction to Hebrew

Thurs, Oct 26 @ 6:00-9:00 PM – Introduction to Hebrew

Fri, Oct 27 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led service

Thurs, Nov 2 @ 6:00-9:00 PM – Introduction to Hebrew

Fri, Nov 4 @ 6:00-8:00 PM – Evening Get-Together

Thurs, Nov 9 @ 6:00-9:00 PM – Introduction to Hebrew

Fri, Nov 10 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led service, Rev. Ed Covert guest speaker

Thurs, Nov 16 @ 6:00-9:00 PM – Introduction to Hebrew

Sat, Nov 18 @ 7:00 PM – Rabbi-led Havdalah, Power of Good screening & discussion

Fri, Dec 1 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led Thematic service

Sat, Dec 16 @ 10:00 AM – Rabbi-led service

Sun, Dec 17 @ 6:00 PM – Hanukkah Party

Fri, Dec 22 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led service

Sat, Jan 6 @ 10:00 AM – Rabbi-led Healing service

Fri, Jan 19 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led service

Wed, Jan 31 @ 6:00 PM – Rabbi-led Tu Be’Shevat seder

Fri, Feb 2 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led service, Pulpit exchange with Rev. Shelby Owen

Fri, Feb 16 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led Community Awareness Shabbat

Fri, Mar 2 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led service (Shushan Purim)

Fri, Mar 16 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led Thematic service

Sat, Mar 31 @ 6:00 PM – Passover Seder

Fri, Apr 6 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led service

Thur, Apr 12 @ 7:30 PM – Lay-led Yom HaShoah service

Sat, Apr 21 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led service

Fri, May 11 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led Healing service

Sun, May 20 – THOI Annual Meeting

Fri, May 25 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led service, Pulpit exchange with Paul Oakley

Fri, June 8 @ 7:30 PM – Lay-led Women’s Group Shabbat

Fri, June 22 @ 7:30 PM – Rabbi-led service

SHOP ‘TIL YOU DROP!

Did you know that you can shop Amazon and help THOI at the same time?  It’s as simple as a click of your mouse!  When you access Amazon via this link, THOI receives a commission for every purchase made.  Your shopping experience, including price, is not affected in any way.  So, start shopping (and helping THOI!) by clicking here.

WOMEN’S GROUP ONGOING FUNDRAISER

We have started a FUN fundraiser for this coming year – for a $25 fee, 6 adult and 6 baby bright pink plastic flamingos can be ordered to be stealthily placed in the yard of a local friend, relative, neighbor, etc. along with your message telling them why they have been “flocked” (e.g. happy birthday or anniversary, to say thank you or Mazel Tov or just on account of because!!)  These adorable flamingos will visit for 24 hours and then be picked up by someone from the stealth flamingo flocking team.  Questions or to order a flocking, please contact Debbie Jacobs at: deb1130@hotmail.com or Beth Young at: bydesign1993@gmail.com

The following articles were written by our own Dr. Ruth Chodrow and published in the Augusta County Historical Society Bulletin.  For more information about the Society, please visit www.augustacountyhs.org

Temple History article

Jewish Merchants article

October Looking at Jews: A Time to Make Repairs and Repent

October 10th, 2015|0 Comments

This is the October 2015 newspaper column that Rabbi Joe writes.
This month it wraps up the High […]

Yom Kippur: Soul Journey – Sermon by Rabbi Sue Levi Elwell

September 30th, 2015|0 Comments

SOUL JOURNEY
 Temple House of Israel, Staunton, VA
Yom Kippur
22 September 2015/10 Tishrei 5776
Sue Levi Elwell
 

 

שנה טובה / Shana […]

Rosh Hashana Eve: Avinu Malkenu By Rabbi Sue Levi Elwell

September 20th, 2015|0 Comments

Rosh HaShana Eve

AVINU MALKENU

Temple House of Israel

Staunton, VA

13 September 2015

Rabbi Sue Levi Elwell

 

 

L’Shana Tova!

 

I have had the […]

Find us in downtown Staunton